Drama Note 8: Super Junior M – Chinese Style

In April 2008, Super Junior M was officially established as a sub band to the popular Korean band Super Junior. Also under the contract of SM Entertainment, Super Junior M consists of Han Geng, Donghae, Choi Siwon, Ryeowook, Kyuhyun from the original Super Junior and two new members, Henry and Zhou Mi. With their debut at the 8th Annual Music Chart Awards with their single “U”, they hope to spread their music throughout Asia, including Hong Kong, Korea and Taiwan. (The M at the end is supposed to stand for Mandarin, but I think it’s just there for some randomness and style.) Unfortunately, not all Super Junior fans are happy with this new band because of the two new singers that are introduced. Even before the official release of Super Junior M, protests were set against Henry and Zhou Mi because they were the only singers not from the original Super Junior. At the end of October 2007, about 400 fans sat outside the SM Entertainment office to support singers only from the original thirteen members of Super Junior. After the official release of the band, over five thousand protesters invaded Super Junior M’s official blog; forcing SM Entertainment to lock the comment box.

I really loved the protesting, especially because all the protests were Chinese fans who were protesting against Chinese singers (that’s a kicker). Maybe I’m new at this, but usually I listen to music for the quality of the singing and the not the face singing. Given, most people calculate the face as an important factor, but seriously, Super Junior M already has five original Super Junior members and two newbie aren’t going to kill the music unless they are bad at singing. Protesting outside the SM Entertainment headquaters? A little extreme, no? But heck, Chinese people can all protest against their own singers, to advocate Korean singers that they can’t even understand! Don’t get me wrong, I’m a Super Junior semi-fan as well, so I can understand how they are addicting, but I’m also willing to give the new guys a shot at this. Look forward to Henry and Zhou Mi’s singing in the future!

Super Junior M – U

~ by zaizai00 on May 6, 2008.

62 Responses to “Drama Note 8: Super Junior M – Chinese Style”

  1. please comment!

  2. I feel the exact same way
    i don’t get why people are so pissed off
    both new members are really talented and they’re being punished for that?!

    i’d be more pissed if they cut the original group
    as long as their not doing that i’m fine

  3. suju es lo max al igual k tvxq m enkantan desde k teno15 años y quisiera estar en el club de fans por fa si nu sale mi correo es jhesmyn003@hotmail.com po fa m muero por ellos gracias byeee

  4. i like super junior……

    i love hyungim kibum…..
    sarangge……..

    giena_pieter@yahoo.com:my email…….

    GBU always…….

    ^geenki^

  5. suju M with 2 new members….hmmm….actually at the first time i looked U’s video…i didn’t get reasons why Henry n Zhou become the real suju members….
    but now…so far so cool…
    i think it’s ok….especially for Henry, he’s awesome violinish…

  6. lutchu abis deh…

  7. ki bum………..

    sarangeyo…….

    i love you…

  8. hmmm…im from Philippines
    big FUN of SUPER JUNIOR
    _________^_^
    EVEN THOUGH I DON’T UNDERSTAND
    hehehe…i still LOVE their songs!
    TNx,

  9. ouwhhh….

    i know..i know

    thats super junior… they handsome..

    shiwon…ryeowook…kibum…nd hankyunk

    iluvu……………. so much

  10. i love super junior
    they are so hot

  11. …….kibum

    …..Yesung

    ….Enhyuk
    ….I..LOVE…YOU….

  12. uj ch0y`…….phj luan haj moj la nhat’……….h0?h0?
    tuy cung?ep. zaj

  13. i love you so much super junior

  14. binh` thuong` thoi! khong dep zai bang` anh BI (RAIN) cua? to’

  15. Hi Who like kyuhyun and Sungmin oppa pleass E-mail to me at lee.jihyun_sky@hotmail.com BB (FC KyuMin)

  16. hi
    I am from Myanmar.But i really love u

  17. I Love Ki Bum he is sooooooo ….. CUTEEEE!!!!!

  18. choi shi won,,,,,,,,,,,sarang hamnida
    you are so hottttttttttt

  19. HEllo
    I’M is FAVORITE foR sUpEr jUnIoR

  20. Shiwon so cool bnget

  21. suju………………….. i love u

  22. mm….

    ganteeng bangeett!!!!!

    bikin pusing!!!!

  23. I like DongHae very much!I’m like a crazy because of DongHae.

  24. dzo xem bi may bac nghe rat well add..

  25. I love you forever super junior

  26. I love you forever super junior and I VERY LIKE YOU KIM BUM

  27. haahhahahahhahahhahahahahah……………………………………………………..
    I Luhp U… Fulllllllllllllll (mbah surip say) aku suka loe …. superjunior

  28. im confused…TT_TT
    so the old super junior group became the super junior m with 2 more new members? or no?

    • about your question .. if not mistaken , the super junior m is not the oLd/originaL super junior .. maybe they are the choosen ones , and added the 2 ..

  29. I really like you Super junior . I like your song . I wish you have a new song soon and your song is with another group such as snsd .

  30. wwwwwwwwww……………………………Owwwwwwwwwwwwwww………….!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????????????????????????????????????????

  31. kapan konser keindonesia

  32. + for me , one of the best member of sUju is Cho kyuhyun , he really really rockz !! he’s not onLy cute but his voice is so aMazing .. I Love you Kyuhyun .. ^_^ +

  33. + I lve kyUhyun .. ^__^ =

  34. I Love Kyuhyun .. ^__^ , i really really do .. ^^ +

  35. SUPER JUNIOR HOOOOOOOTTT…

  36. Super Junio Cooooooool…..
    I Love You Super Junior……..

  37. I love Hangeng,Hangeng is the one in my heart
    SUPER JUNIOR,i love u

  38. im from INDONESIA
    super junior co0l…~~~
    and i very-very love you “SUPER JUNIOR”

    ~~~SUPER JUNIOR IS THE BEST~~~

  39. i love you SUPER JUNIOR i hope someday i will meet you all especialy
    ryeo wook,shi won,yi shung..i really love your songs and your voices
    eventhough i cant understand,i came from phil..!

    SARANGHEU!!ღ
    MWWAAAHH.
    hope you will read this message..
    i love SUJU

  40. hi super junnior , i love ur team so much. m in cambodia my name NY or hyun joom

  41. hi m fin or je ah , i love all of u so much. I LOVE SIWONNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNn

  42. I LOVE SUPER JUNIOR.. I WISH I COULD WATCH INFRONT OF MY EYES.. BUT HOPES JUST LIKE A FLYING KITES… ANYWAY I STILLLL LOVE THEM SONGS.

  43. They so HOT!! I miss them.

  44. sUper JunIor…………..

    saRangHaeyO<<<<,,,

    <>>…

    kAmsA hAmnIda

  45. 0_o>>…

    ..sArAng hAe yo!!KIbum…

    ..ohhhh YouR So hoTTTtttttttttttttt…,.,.,

    ..To the mAxxxx>>

  46. we love super junior very much ………..

    iraha bade ka Indonesia ?
    we’ll be waiting for you lah … ^_^
    hahay ……..

  47. lav yha…
    just continue ur career
    ki bum???

  48. hola saranghae yo! sungmin

    ohhhhhhhhh your no:one superjunior

    to maxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>>>

  49. adoro a los super junior son los mejores me encantan sus canciones :D:$

  50. super junior great !!!

    love u,, kibum
    henry lau !!

  51. hello!♥♥♥♥

  52. <3<3<3<3<3HI<3<3<3<3<3
    I LOVE KIBUM AND SHE YON. THEY ARE REALLY COOL AND SOOO CUTE. LOTS OF LOVE FROMASHIKA PRADHAN. I AM FROM THIMPHU, BHUTAN.

  53. Love you a lot. ❤

  54. ♥♥♥♥LOVE YOU A LOT♥♥♥♥

  55. hi i like super junior

  56. I’m yhe biggest fan of Super Junior….I like the Sorry saorry….and Its you….blue tommorow….its nice song for me…..

  57. i love lee sung min 4ever

  58. hi welcome to here in the phillipines plz u come here in cebu and id like ur song.i love you allllllllllllllllllll?????????????

  59. …hi,im pauline,,,im sooo thankful that suju was made…it makes my life complete…suju addict rocks…

  60. i lov super juniors

Leave a Reply

 
